30 Days of Self Discovery

This is my 30 day challenge: Take time out to do what I love, make positive changes, be challenged, grow and rediscover myself.

Upwards and Onwards

Exactly a year ago I said good-bye to a dear friend forever. Lots has changed since that day and I’m actually surprised how quick time has ticked along, since it still feels like yesterday.

Reflecting on it – since it seems to be the thing to do for anniversaries of anything, I realise the pain is duller, but the sense of loss is still there (that empty part that can’t be filled in) and also a tinge of loneliness crept in on the way that wasn’t there before. Though I’m not crying about it anymore (ok, sometimes), I have more hope in the future and today I can actually smile as I remember everything about them.

Perhaps Robert Frost knew what he was talking about when he said, “In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.”

And it does.

The thing about this is we have the choice to move on with it and at the end of the day it is a choice. Not always an easy one, but as I look forward, I think it’s the best one.

And so…

Image

 

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on May 17, 2014 by in Mind and tagged , , , , , .