30 Days of Self Discovery

This is my 30 day challenge: Take time out to do what I love, make positive changes, be challenged, grow and rediscover myself.

What I learnt about NaNoWriMo

This is the first year I did NaNoWriMo and I think I’m suffering post-NaNo blues.

It’s nice to get into all the excitement, being driven by your own expectations and going hard for it for a set time frame, but what happens after you win? I’ve kinda sat around wondering what to do next; twiddling my thumbs. There’s no amazing fanfare, no fireworks display, no red carpet. Just me, in front of my laptop with a ‘Winners Banner’ to show for it and a new experience under my belt. Maybe I expected more.

Winner-2014-Twitter-Profile

So to wrap up the month, I thought I’d write a few things I’ve learnt from this venture:

1. Real life will get in the way – I spent my November month initially with the flu that turned to bronchitis. I felt like I needed to get my lungs scraped the way one would scrape gum off the bottom of a school desk. I was also prescribed a whole heap of medication, which probably made my writing more interesting.

2. Writing for word count means giving up on quality – I realised as I wrote for a daily word count that I produced a lot of crap to get there. It wasn’t the best word or sentence. It wasn’t the best version of how things could happen and there wasn’t as much thought and procrastination involved. I just wanted words, not sense.

3. Setting a goal is good – But only if you commit to it and actually finish it, since it’s easy to make excuses on the way.

4. You will meet people who write – Obviously it only happens if you join in the community fun and actually try to be a little more extroverted than your introverted self is comfortable with. These people will come from all types of backgrounds and writing experiences and they will flood the forums with amazing or stupid questions. Learn to tune in and tune out, but be nice all the same.

5. The finished product will likely need to be burned – But don’t. Put it aside. Let it stew and then you can scrape the bacterial growth off when you’ve whipped on your hazard suit. Oh and whatever you do, DON’T SEND IT OUT. Not in that state. Not unless you want to start a global pandemic.

6. Celebrate – One small step for man, one giant leap for the cat from the fence. You know what I mean.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 28, 2014 by in Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , .

Navigation

