30 Days of Self Discovery

This is my 30 day challenge: Take time out to do what I love, make positive changes, be challenged, grow and rediscover myself.

Carparks, Muggings and Pickups.

I’m in a rush and cutting through a parking lot when I hear a voice calling out behind me, “Miss, miss!”

I keep walking since I’m not one to talk to strangers, especially in a parking lot in a country where muggings are common.

Still, the guy persists and I stop and turn around. I don’t actually say anything. I’m about two meters away, sizing up the situation, trying to work out if I need to run or if the guy is lost and asking for directions.

“Hi, my name’s Todd and I’m from California?”

It sounds like he’s asked me a question. Maybe he is lost. I’m a bit slow at this and I just stare. I think I’m meant to say something, but I don’t think he’s actually said anything I can respond to. Am I meant to introduce myself back? Tell him my name and what country I’m from too? I’m still trying to work out if this is a mugging, so it’s not going well.

He looks flustered and says, “I think you’re really beautiful.”

Wow. Is that how things work these days? I’m meant to be interested because he tells me his name and what country he’s from? Maybe that might impress some people. I’m not sure. Does it? If he said a different country would I have been more wary?

I can’t help but feel bad for him since the first thing to come out of my mouth is, “I’m sorry, but I’m married.”

He looks at me like I’ve just told him my name is Mary.

“And I was just on my way to meet my husband.” Which is the truth since that’s why I was rushing.

It clicks. The poor guy groans and covers his face in complete embarrassment and apologises. I want to pat him on the back for his courage, but I can’t do much but say goodbye and rush off.

I guess he was hoping my name was Mary.

SmoothPickUpLine-84320-1

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 31, 2014 by in Social, Travel and tagged , , , .
